Przejdź do menu głównego | Przejdź do treści | Przejdź do wyboru wielkości czcionki | Przejdź do mapy strony | Przejdź do osób | Przejdź do wiadomości | Przejdź do wydarzeń | Przejdź do instytucji | Przejdź do wyszukiwarki wydarzeń |

All Lara’s Wars (Wszystkie wojny Lary)
Wojciech Jagielski
published by Znak, Kraków

A parable on fate
„Women used to be only extras, decorative elements of the world I was trying to understand and describe. […] Surrounded by men and involved in their world, I did not find time or strength to even imagine how the battle landscape is seen by women, no war heroines, but war extras and victims. To tell the truth, I never felt this need,” Wojciech Jagielski wrote in his Towers of Stone, published in 2004.
After ten years, he meets a woman in Tbilisi who makes him feel this need.
And this is how Lara becomes the heroine of a contemporary parable on fate, in which the wars in Georgia, Chechnya and Syria are just decorations for the war waged by a mother to save her sons from Evil. The Evil that “comes out of people […] when they feel they have power over other people’s lives and can do whatever they wish with them.”
In All Lara’s Wars, Jagielski paints his so far most dramatic battle landscape. One that has no winners. After all, one cannot win with fate.
Katarzyna Nowak

Wojciech Jagielski

(born in 1960) has been nominated for the Ryszard Kapuściński Award for Literary Reportage four times (in the award’s first, fourth, fifth and seventh seasons).
In 1986-1991, he worked in the foreign section of the Polish Press Agency (PAP). Subsequently, he worked in the foreign desk of Gazeta Wyborcza daily for 20 years, and then again for PAP from 2011. As a reporter, he specializes in covering Africa, South and Central Asia, and the Caucasus. He witnessed some of the most important events in those regions of the world at the end of the 20th century, including the collapse of communism and the breakup of the Soviet Union, in addition to the wars in Afghanistan, and the fall of the apartheid in South Africa.
Author of books including Dobre miejsce do umierania (1994; English title: A Good Place to Die), Modlitwa o deszcz (2002; Pray for the Rain), Wieże z kamienia (2004; Towers of Stone), Nocni wędrowcy (2009; The Night Wanderers), Wypalanie traw (2012; Burning the Grass), and Trębacz z Tembisy (2013; Trumpeter from Tembisa). His books have been translated into English, Spanish, German, Italian and Dutch. In 2015, he won the Ksawery and Mieczysław Pruszyński PEN Club Award in Poland and a major Italian literary prize named after Ryszard Kapuściński.


All Lara’s Wars (Wszystkie wojny Lary)

published by Znak